a good book, a cup of tea, a cozy pillow…

I really like to read. I’ve been doing it as long as I can remember. In fact, one of the earliest stories told about me involves a book, another kid, an argument, and a happy ending. For me at least.

Seems that way back in pre-school, I had a favorite book. One day, while coming in for the morning session, I noticed that another child had gotten my favorite book off the shelf before I had a chance to get to it. I asked for the book, explaining how it was “my book,” all to no avail. Eventually an argument ensued and somehow or other this kid decided that I could have the book. He gave it to me and then I promptly smacked him. I don’t think anyone has tried to take a book away from me ever since. At least that’s how the story goes.

I’m not sure where my voracious love of reading came from, but I clearly remember devouring the entire Boxcar Children series by Gertrude Chandler Warner when in first grade. I loved their mysteries and their ingenuity. From there things naturally progressed and I read fiction, non-fiction, newspapers, magazines, cereal boxes….you name it. If it had printed words it was good enough for me. In elementary school I’d while away the hours reading our encyclopedia set or browsing the dictionary.

Of course, every now and then I’d come across books that just didn’t grab me. Tolkein’s The Hobbit was one such book. Arduous, tedious, just couldn’t get it going. But this was the exception rather than the norm.

Over the years I have found some favorites, books that I return to every 5 or 6 years to enjoy again the fantastic stories. One such book, Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet remains part of my permanent collection. As does the Earth’s Children series by Jean Auel (aka Clan of the Cave Bear) and The Incarnations of Immortality series by Piers Anthony.

About 5 years ago I began to keep a record of the books I was reading, mostly so as not to reread something by mistake. As it turns out I read on average one new book every 10 days- each with an average page count of about 400 pages.

At any rate, it seemed like a good time to move this listing to its own special place in cyberspace, hence this blog. Here you will find short synopses of the books I finish, along with the title and author information. Perhaps my brief recaps will inspire you to pick up one of these books for yourself.

Oh, and for the record, I still resist the digital readers that are now becoming the norm. Something about the feel, the heft of printed paper makes me enjoy the reading process just that much more. Anyhow…..happy reading!

(visit more of my websites through links here.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “a good book, a cup of tea, a cozy pillow…

  1. Theresa

    thanks for the update! Reading mania is incurable.

  2. T. Withrow

    thanks for the update

    From: the things i read… To: tewecho@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, January 11, 2016 8:18 AM Subject: [New post] a good book, a cup of tea, a cozy pillow… #yiv8370308377 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8370308377 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8370308377 a.yiv8370308377primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8370308377 a.yiv8370308377primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8370308377 a.yiv8370308377primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8370308377 a.yiv8370308377primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8370308377 WordPress.com | kengrandlund posted: “I really like to read. I’ve been doing it as long as I can remember. In fact, one of the earliest stories told about me involves a book, another kid, an argument, and a happy ending. For me at least.Seems that way back in pre-school, I had a favorite bo” | |

Leave a Reply

